Skip to main content

Journalism in an Age of Fake News

A big thank you to Salt Lake Tribune's Paul Huntsman Sr. and Jennifer Napier-Pearce for speaking on USU Campus
Paul Huntsman Sr and Jennifer Napier-Pearce

Many of us are stuggling to make sense of information environment in which the media has been denigrated by political leadership and has evolved into what some call mutually exclusibe echo chambers. On Thursday, March 23, two prominent members of the jounalism community in Utah - Paul Huntsman Sr., owner of the Salt Lake Tribune and Jennifer Napier-Pearce, Tribune editor - discussed how the paper navigates this terrain, how they select the stories the Tribune considers news and what it all means to an informed citizenry.

From left to right - Damon Cann, Jennifer Napeir-Pearce, Jeannie Johnson and Paul Huntsman Sr.
Tribune Lunch

The Department would like to congratulate Damon Cann for receiving the Virginia Gray Best Book Award

damon award

The award is given for the best political science book published on the subject of U.S. state politics or policy in the preceding three calendar years. The book is titled "Voters' Verdicts: Citizens, Campaigns, and Institutions in State Supreme Court Elections" by Chris Bonneau and Damon Cann.

The book addresses contemporary concerns with judicial elections by investigating factors that influence voters' decisions in the election of state supreme court judges. The book shows that the move to nonpartisan elections depresses political participation but does little to mute the effects of partisanship and ideology. Using national surveys of voters in state supreme court elections, the authors get inside the mind of the voter to evaluate factors influencing vote choice in both contestable and non-contestable judicial elections.


Check out Laura Gamboa's post on Venezuela in the
WZB Democracy Blog

For years now, Venezuela has been going through a severe crisis, the economy is collapsing, crime is reaching record high levels, and the government is turning more authoritarian. In order to address the crisis the opposition has been pushing for a recall referendum against President Nicolás Maduro. On October, however, the government suspended the referendum process, increasing fears that Venezuela is becoming a full-fledge dictatorship. This post discusses Venezuela´s situation today, the reasons the government might have had to stop the referendum, and what are some of the mechanisms the opposition could use to get out of the crisis.

Go to:

Political Science Department

0725 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322-0725
Phone: (435) 797-1306
Fax: (435) 797-3751


All academic advisors are located in the Taggart Student Center room 302.
Find your advisor


International Studies

Law and Constitutional Studies

Political Science

Criminal Justice