Skip to main content

Hamilton versus Jefferson!
Student Conference at USU March 31-April 1

 ANNOUNCEMENT: Student conference at Utah State on Hamilton versus Jefferson March 31 – April 1, 2017. 
The conference will be seminar style and based on original sources.  Participating students will receive a stipend. Applications to participate will be available January 2017. 

For more information, contact Peter McNamara:

To get a sense of what the conference will cover you might look at these two short pieces on Hamilton and Jefferson by Peter McNamara.

On Hamilton! the musical, click here.

On Hamilton versus Jefferson in Washington’s cabinet, click here.

The Department would like to congratulate Damon Cann for receiving the Virginia Gray Best Book Award


The award is given for the best political science book published on the subject of U.S. state politics or policy in the preceding three calendar years. The book is titled "Voters' Verdicts: Citizens, Campaigns, and Institutions in State Supreme Court Elections" by Chris Bonneau and Damon Cann.
The book addresses contemporary concerns with judicial elections by investigating factors that influence voters' decisions in the election of state supreme court judges. The book shows that the move to nonpartisan elections depresses political participation but does little to mute the effects of partisanship and ideology. Using national surveys of voters in state supreme court elections, the authors get inside the mind of the voter to evaluate factors influencing vote choice in both contestable and non-contestable judicial elections.